Can Uber Passengers be Compensated for Their Injuries?

  • Home
  • Law
  • Can Uber Passengers be Compensated for Their Injuries?

Uber services rose to popularity in 2010 when they proved to be one of the most effective ways to get a cab with minimum wait time. Today, over 118 million Americans are using Uber.  

With more Uber drivers crowding the roads, it is no surprise that the rate of Uber accidents has also increased. Like other motorists, Uber drivers are prone to car accidents when moving their passengers around. So, what options does a passenger have when injured in an accident? The process for filing for damages for an accident with Uber is a bit complicated. Read on to learn all you need to know about your rights as an Uber passenger after an accident.

Uber Driver Regulations and Requirements

Not everyone can become an Uber driver. To become an Uber driver, one must go through a driver’s screening process, which will review your driver’s record and criminal history. State and local laws require Uber vehicles to be under 14 years old, in good condition, and have plain paint with no commercial signage. Moreover, they should have automatic windows and air conditioning and should have the stated minimum number of seats. 

Drivers must also be insured with a minimum liability of $15,000 per person for bodily injury, $25,000 per accident for property damage, and $30,000 per accident for bodily injury.  

These regulations and requirements are implemented to mitigate any potential risk of accident, but car accidents can be impossible to prevent.

Fault for Uber Accidents in New Orleans 

Louisiana is an at-fault state, and drivers who cause accidents are held liable for their negligence. Uber drivers who violate safety regulations in the following ways will be held accountable for the accident: 

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Speeding or driving recklessly 
  • Aggressive driving, like road rage and tailgating 
  • Negligent behavior includes distracted driving, failing to use turn signals, running a red light, failing to use headlights, and failing to yield.
  • Ignoring vehicle maintenance and repairs that eventually cause an accident 

Steps to Take if You Are Involved in an Accident 

If you find yourself injured in a car accident, your health is the number one priority. It is crucial to prioritize seeking immediate medical attention and not overlook any pain or discomfort, as it could indicate underlying severe injuries sustained in the accident. You should report the incident by completing the form on Uber’s website. While doing this, provide details for the date and location of the accident, the time, and the vehicle’s license plate number. You should also include your account of the accident.

Since Louisiana is an at-fault state, you will file an insurance claim with the at-fault’s driver insurance provider. Unfortunately, this process can get too complicated as Uber drivers are considered independent contractors covered by the company’s insurance under specific conditions. Uber’s auto-insurance policy will take effect when the driver is awaiting a passenger, en route to pick up a passenger, or when the driver is transporting a passenger. If these conditions are unmet, an Uber driver must file claims through their liability coverage. 

Pursuing a car accident lawsuit against a company like Uber can be hectic. Like other insurance companies, they may not be willing to compensate your losses and will fight back every attempt made to hold them liable. If your pursuit is successful, the company may only be required to compensate for property damage and medical bills. This means you cannot recover other damages from Uber’s insurance company. 

Key Takeaways 

Louisiana’s statute of limitations for personal injury claims is one year, and claims made after this time will automatically be dismissed. Before filing a lawsuit against any ridesharing company, hiring a personal injury lawyer is crucial. You may be able to receive compensation from a rideshare company with a reliable lawyer.