Things to know about Virginia workers’ compensation

  • Home
  • Law
  • Things to know about Virginia workers’ compensation

For the unversed, all businesses in Virginia with more than three employees are required to maintain workers’ compensation coverage. The benefits of this extends to those too, who are working on a part-time basis. If you were injured at work, you should consider getting medical assistance at the earliest, and the next step should be about contacting a reliable and experienced Richmond workers’ compensation attorney. With an attorney, you can expect to understand the true worth of your claim and your rights. In this post, we are sharing more on Virginia workers’ compensation facts that are worth knowing. 

  1. You have 30 days to report the incident. Just because you couldn’t inform your employer on the day that the mishap happened, it doesn’t take away your rights. In Virginia, you have time up to 30 days to report the matter. 
  2. Virginia workers’ compensation coverage is no-fault. This simply means that it doesn’t matter who is at fault. Even if the accident was caused because of your part mistake, you are still entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. 
  3. You cannot sue your employer for an incident at the workplace. In return of the benefits you get with workers’ compensation, you don’t have the right to sue your employer, even if the incident happened because of their mistake. 
  4. There has to be a link between injury and work. Just because you had a heart attack at the workplace doesn’t mean that you can claim compensation under workers’ compensation. In Virginia, your injury has to be related to the work you are doing in some way. 
  5. Depending on the insurance adjuster is foolish. Just because you have an insurance adjuster doesn’t mean you can recover your lost wages and medical bills. These adjusters work for insurance companies and they want to reduce their liability to the best possible extent. That is also the precise reason why you need legal advice on how to pursue the matter. 

If you don’t understand how workers’ compensation works, don’t forget to contact an attorney. Your lawyer can help you evaluate where you stand with the claim and if it is worth the fight. 

Leave a Comment